“What Should I Read Next” Wednesday

Good morning!

One of the regular features on my blog will be “What’s Should I Read Next” Wednesday. I’m always looking for suggestions on good books to read, so hopefully this will be a resource to you when trying to choose new books!

I am a self-proclaimed bookaholic.  I read all the time.  I read at night, in the morning, while I brush my teeth, and anytime I have a spare minute.  So I read a lot! A lot meaning, at least 3-4 books per week, if not more. So every Wednesday, I will tell you what books I’ve read in the past week, along with a short summary and my opinion of the book.

My Sister’s Voice by Mary Carter– I love love loved this book. Can you tell I liked it? It was very well written, and the story was fascinating.  This novel is about identical twin sisters, Lacy and Monica, who don’t know that the other twin exists. Lacy is Deaf, lives with her hearing boyfriend, and is developing a career as an artist. Monica, the hearing twin, is an author and motivational speaker who lacks a sense of purpose and passion. The story follows Monica and Lacy as they learn of the other’s existence and try to develop a relationship. They also struggle to forgive their parents for their separation as they learn the truth about their early childhood. It is a beautiful story about love, forgiveness, and family bonds.

The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier– This story is about the famous French tapestries nicknamed “The Lady and the Unicorn,” currently on display in the Musee du Moyen-Age. The tapestries are considered one of the great works of art from the Middle Ages. The story follows the path of the artist, Nicolas des Innocents, as he designs the tapestries for Jean Le Viste, a nobleman in the French court. Nicolas bases his design on the myth of the unicorn, and uses the faces of Genevieve and Claude Le Viste, Jean’s wife and eldest daughter. Not only does Nicolas design the tapestries, but he also travels to the workshop in Brussels where the tapestries are woven.  Nicolas comes to respect the artistry of the weavers, and even falls somewhat in love with the weaver’s daughter, Alienor, although his heart remains with Claude Le Viste, the beautiful and unattainable daughter of Jean Le Viste.

I enjoyed The Lady and the Unicorn, and I have also enjoyed Tracy Chevalier’s other books, such as Girl with a Pearl Earring. I like the historical aspect, as well as learning more about the artwork. Her characters come to life in a believable way.

Gifts of War by Mackenzie Ford– This story takes place in England during World War I. Hal is a soldier in the British army who is wounded early in the war, and begins working in the British intelligence department. During the Christmas Truce of 1914 (before he was wounded), Hal meets a German soldier named Wilhelm. Wilhelm shows Hal a picture of his English fiance Sam, and asks Hal to visit Sam and pass on a message. Hal does travel to meet Sam, but doesn’t tell her that he met Wilhelm. He falls in love with Sam, despite the fact that she has a son by Wilhelm, and asks her to move with him to London.  Sam and her son, Will, grow to depend on Hal, but Sam’s heart is still with Wilhelm, although he is the enemy. Hal struggles whether to tell Sam the truth about his meeting with Wilhelm, or to keep his happiness and continue to lie so that Sam will remain with him.

Last but not least, I have recently fallen in love with Diane Chamberlain. I’ve read a few of her books before, including Summer’s Child, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, The Shadow Wife, and possibly a couple others. Somehow though, I never made the connection that these were by the same author, and that she had many other books that were waiting for me to find them. So I’ll go ahead and apologize for the overdose of Diane Chamberlain over the next couple of weeks! I feel the need to make up for lost time and read every novel she’s ever written. Here are a few that I’ve read over the past week.

Before the Storm by Diane Chamberlain– Laurel Lockwood is a wealthy single mother to Maggie (18) and Andy (15).  Andy, who has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Disorder, takes up most of Laurel’s time, anxiety, and parenting. Maggie, who is smart, beautiful, and talented, is left to fend mostly for herself, as well as help take care of her brother Andy.  When a fire burns down a church that Andy is in for a youth event, Andy survives and rescues many other teenagers as well. Sadly, three people die in the fire. Andy is lauded as a hero, until evidence seems to suggest that he may have been involved in setting the fire. Laurel fights to protect Andy and prove his innocence, without noticing the trouble that is eating away at Maggie.

Secrets She Left Behind by Diane Chamberlain– This novel picks up where Before the Storm left off, but follows the story from a different point of view. Sara Weston is best friends with Laurel Lockwood, and her son Keith grew up with Maggie and Andy Lockwood.  Sara has kept the secret of the deeper relationship between the families that even Laurel doesn’t know.  Keith struggles with this connection to the Lockwood family, especially after the burns he suffers from the fire caused by the Lockwoods. When his mother goes missing, Keith has to decide whether to trust the family he never knew he had.

The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamberlain– Noelle, Tess, and Emerson are best friends.  Tess and Emerson trust in this friendship, and are shocked when Noelle, a beloved community midwife, commits suicide, leaving behind many secrets. Noelle’s role in their lives went much deeper than they ever thought.  As they search for answers about the reason behind Noelle’s suicide, they are shocked at what they find. When unraveled, Noelle’s confession may uncover a truth that Tess and Emerson didn’t want to know.

Happy reading!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Carter
    May 26, 2011 @ 16:25:44

    I really appreciate the nice review and link to my website. If you send me your address, I’d love to send you a signed copy.

    Reply

    • eatplayread
      May 26, 2011 @ 18:11:43

      Thank you so much! I will email you my address. I would absolutely love a signed copy, especially since I only had a library copy and didn’t get to keep it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

