What’s for dinner? Take 2

Here’s where I share another recipe for your eating pleasure!
I even remembered to take pictures for you this time. I meant to take a picture of the Asian pork tenderloin, I really did! But by the time I remembered, there were only two sad little slices left.

So what’s for dinner tonight? Jambalaya!

Jambalaya sounds like a party word to me. It’s just begging for an exclamation point. Jambalaya!

But in all honesty, I’m not sure if I’ve ever eaten Jambalaya! before. It’s possible, but it didn’t sound (or taste) familiar. However, it turned out to be delicious, and I hope you like it too.  Also, I’m not really sure what the difference is between Jambalaya! and gumbo, so this might be more gumbo-ish. I’ve never been to Louisiana, but I think they’re similar dishes.  So call it whatever you want, but it sure tastes good!

Drumroll please… Here is my handy dandy recipe for Jambalaya! (or gumbo)

Cast of ingredients:
1/2 pound kielbasa, sliced
1 pork chop (or chicken breast), cut in small pieces
1 can diced tomatoes
1 1/2 cups of corn (frozen or canned)
1 can beef broth
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup instant rice
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

(Pretend that there’s corn in the picture above. I tried to remember everything, but I failed)

I adapted this recipe from one that included both chicken (instead of pork), and chicken broth (instead of beef broth). Sadly, hubby is allergic to poultry, which means that chicken and all chicken-related ingredients are a no-no. Believe you me, this is sometimes a struggle! I’ve learned to replace ingredients, be creative with beef and pork, and most importantly, I always order chicken when we eat out since I don’t get it at home.

Here’s the steps, with a few pictures:

Cut up kielbasa and pork chop.  Saute kielbasa in olive oil in a soup pot for about 5 minutes. Sprinkle the flour over the kielbasa and saute until flour is browned. Add pork pieces and saute 5 additional minutes, until pork is partially done. Add in the rest of the ingredients, and simmer for 15 minutes.

I served Texas toast with the Jambalaya!, since bread + garlic + butter = much deliciousness. Plus, it’s an easy side dish that doesn’t require much work.

This was so good and very easy. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

