Pasta Carbonara/Alfredo/Cheesy Deliciousness

Well, last night I made Pasta Carbonara. Or so the recipe claimed! In my opinion, it was more like a pasta alfredo, with some bacon thrown in to give it a carbonara-ish swagger.

The way I cook is like my mom. Sometimes I use recipes as a starting point, but I rarely follow them exactly. I like to mix it up or switch things so I know we’ll like it.

So here’s my recipe for Pasta Carbonara Alfredo. Regardless of the name, it sure was tasty!

The cast of ingredients:

3 cups of penne (or other pasta of your choice. I used farfalle)
8 bacon strips, diced
1/2 onion, diced
1 cup half and half
1/3 cup butter (about 3/4 of a stick)
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon dried (or fresh) parsley
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Cook the pasta according to directions. (Boil water, dump in noodles, cook until ready.)


Cook bacon in a large skillet until crisp.

Remove bacon from skillet, set aside, and toss in the onion. Cook the onion until slightly browned.


Remove onion and set aside.
Add half and half, butter, garlic, and parsley. Cook and stir until the butter melts and ingredients are combined and bubbly.


Drain the cooked pasta and add the noodles to the cream mixture.


Add in the bacon, onions, and Parmesan cheese. Stir to combine, place in a bowl, and say, “Mmmm” while enjoying.


This was good, and I served it with some Texas toast, which is hubby and my new favorite side dish. Probably not the healthiest, but it sure is tasty!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dubSnindy
    May 31, 2011 @ 02:07:29

    No bad :), it’s well, to ever

    Reply

Leave a Reply

