Friday List, Plus Muffins

As I’ve said before, I am a piano teacher. I actually started teaching piano in high school, but I just had a few students. We had a couple of tiny little recitals. Tomorrow is my first recital as a “grown-up teacher.” I’m so excited! It’s still going to be fairly small, as quite a few students are already out of town for summer, but I’m looking forward to it.

In honor of the recital, here are some of my favorite things about teaching piano:

1. Unexpected hugs. And cards, and pictures.

2. When they finally remember a new concept that’s been really difficult.

3. Seeing how excited they are to play actual “songs” they recognize.

4. When they brag about what they can do.

5. Being a positive influence.

6. Laughing at the funny things they say.

7. Feeling like I’m making a difference.

8. Planting a love for music in their hearts.

9. Playing musical games so they don’t realize they’re learning.

10. Hearing them improve week after week.

Also in honor of Friday, here’s a recipe for you. Chocolate chip muffins! The other day, Hubby was lying on the couch and suddenly said, “Are you baking?” “Umm, no,” I answered, confused, as I was sitting and reading a book, and definitely not cooking. “Well,” he said, “it smells like chocolate chip muffins. I would really like some chocolate chip muffins right now.”

He had to wait until the next day, since 10:00 pm is not my favorite time to start baking. But, I made them! And they are delicious and already almost gone.

Hubby’s Chocolate Chip Muffins:

Cast of Ingredients:
2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1 Cup Milk
1 Egg
1/3 Cup Vegetable oil
3/4 Cup Chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400.
Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl, then set aside.


In another bowl, mix egg, milk, and oil.


Then add the egg mix into the dry ingredients until moistened, but still lumpy.


Then add chocolate chips and fold in.


Spoon the batter into greased muffin pan, filling each cup about 2/3 full.


Bake for 18-20 minutes. Makes about 15 muffins.

These were a tasty treat! My personal favorite is to add some mashed banana to the mix, but hubby likes it simple. Whatever way you choose, I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

